The Care Certificate (2015) was developed, as part of the Cavendish Review work (The Cavendish Review –, jointly by Skills for Care, Health Education England and Skills for Health. It:

  • applies across health and social care
  • links to National Occupational Standards and units in qualifications
  • covers what is required to be caring, giving workers a good basis from which they can further develop their knowledge and skills.
    ‘The Care Certificate was introduced in April 2015 and it is now the expectation of all those working as healthcare assistants and adult social care workers to undertake this learning as part of their induction programme. The Care Certificate was created as a result of the Cavendish Review which was published in July 2013. This review was part of the response to the Francis Inquiry into the failings of care at the Mid-Staffordshire NHS Trust. The Cavendish Review found that the training and development of healthcare assistants and adult social care workers was often not consistent or good enough. Cavendish proposed that a new ‘Certificate of Fundamental Care’ be created to improve this and this resulted in the ‘Care Certificate’. The Care Certificate covers the learning outcomes, competencies and standards of behaviour that must be expected of support workers in the health and social care sectors. It aims to make sure that you are caring, compassionate and provide quality care in your work. The certificate builds on and replaces the earlier induction programmes: Common Induction Standards (CIS) and National Minimum Training Standards (NMTS)’. Source: Care certificate introduction workbook (2015:3)

The Care Certificate Standards:
1. Understand Your Role 9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
2. Your Personal Development 10. Safeguarding Adults
3. Duty of Care 11. Safeguarding Children
4. Equality and Diversity 12. Basic Life Support
5. Work in a Person Centred Way 13. Health and Safety
6. Communication 14. Handling Information
7. Privacy and Dignity 15. Infection Prevention and Control
8. Fluids and Nutrition

9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
10. Safeguarding Adults
11. Safeguarding Children
12. Basic Life Support
13. Health and Safety
14. Handling Information
15. Infection Prevention and Control

Click below for further information:
Care Certificate